|
Introduction
As a general rule, offices should retain records
in their custody only as long as they are needed for the operation of the unit.
Non-current or inactive records should be transferred to the University Archives
on a regular basis. The time period during which records are needed will vary
from office to office as well as from record type to record type. In most
cases, the office of origin is the best judge of the current usefulness of a
record. Where multiple copies of records are created, one may be sent to the
University Archives immediately.
All records
likely to be of continuing and enduring historical, administrative,
legal, and/or fiscal
value to Villanova University or to researchers should be retained permanently.
These records are considered to be so valuable or unique in documenting the
history of an individual office, department, school, institute or center of
Villanova University that they are preserved in the University Archives.
Permanent records should be transferred to the University Archives for proper
management and preservation when they are no longer used in the daily operation
of the office and are seldom referred to.
Mission
The Villanova University
Archives is designated as the official repository for all non-current records of
Villanova University. Its primary purpose is to document the history of the
university and provide source materials for administrators, faculty, students,
alumni/ae and other members of the University community, as well as scholars,
authors, and other interested persons who seek to evaluate the impact of the
University's contributions to the community as well as the history of education
in the nation. In order to fulfill this purpose, Villanova University Archives
collects those records and materials that have enduring value in all formats
created or received by administrators, faculty, students and alumni/ae that
document the history and development of Villanova University. All records
produced, generated or received and accumulated by Villanova University
employees in the course of their official duties are the property of Villanova
University and as such are subject to submission to the University Archives in
accordance with the following policy. Records, which possess historical,
administrative, legal, and/or fiscal value, are retained permanently. The
University Archives then preserves these records and makes them available for
researchers. The purpose of the Villanova University Collection Development
Policy is to ensure that all pertinent records are preserved.
Criteria
The Villanova University
Archives seeks to document the Villanova University community, which includes
the administrators, faculty, students, staff and alumni/ae. In assessing
records appropriate for permanent retention, the University Archives attempts to
include any and all documentation in any form produced or received in the
conduct of University business.
Record Types and Formats
The official records encompass the documents or
papers produced, generated or received by the various administrative offices of
Villanova University in the conduct of its business and which are preserved for
their enduring value.
In filling its obligation as the keeper of
Villanova University history, the University Archives seeks to collect materials
from offices, departments, schools, institutes, centers and student
organizations. The following is a checklist of appropriate records and
materials that should be deposited in the Villanova University Archives.
1.
Official Administrative Records, Papers and Publications of Villanova University
Commonly Transferred to the University Archives
·
Constitution and by-laws,
minutes of meetings, memoranda, annual reports, correspondence, reports and
lists of the Board of Trustees;
·
Records of the Office of the
President, including annual reports, correspondence, administrative subject
files and reports;
·
Correspondence, subject files,
annual reports and reports of the Office of Vice President for Academic Affairs;
·
Correspondence, subject files,
annual reports and reports of the Senior University Vice President, University
Vice President, Vice President for Financial Affairs, Vice President for Student
Life, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Vice President for General
Counsel and Office of Mission Effectiveness;
·
Correspondence, subject files
and reports of deans, directors and administrators of the schools, colleges,
departments, programs, centers and institutes of the University;
·
Correspondence, subject files,
and reports of the administrative offices: Budget and Auxiliary Services,
Enrollment Management, Facilities Management, Human Resources, Public Safety,
University Information Technologies (UNIT), Library;
·
Minutes, memoranda, and reports
of all major academic, administrative and university commissions, councils and
committees, including the Faculty Council, Faculty Senate, Faculty Congress,
the University Senate and their committees
·
Academic departmental records
including minutes, reports, correspondence, syllabi and faculty vitae;
·
Self-studies and accreditation
reports including supporting documentation;
·
Certification reports and
supporting documentation;
·
Evaluations;
·
Annual budget and audit
reports;
·
Records of the Registrar
including calendars and class schedules, course descriptions, enrollment
reports, graduation rosters, official commencement programs, grade reports, and
other reports issued on a regular basis;
·
Alumni/ae records including
minutes, newsletters, reports, newsclippings, publications, photographs, albums
and scrapbooks of alumni/ae association;
·
Reports of the Offices of
Admissions, Public Relations and Development;
·
Reports of the Office of
Planning, Training and Institutional Research (OPTIR);
·
Reports of the Office for
Research and Sponsored Projects (ORSP); Grant records (funded);
·
Reports of student
organizations;
·
Plans (Strategic);
·
Speeches;
·
Publications distributed in the
name of the University including: annual reports, newsletters , posters or
booklets, catalogs, special bulletins, yearbooks, student newspapers and
publications, university directories and faculty/staff rosters, faculty, staff
and administrative newsletters and publications, alumni/ae publications and
ephemeral materials, brochures, calendars of events, guides, flyers, handbooks,
manuals (procedures), information bulletins, master schedules, posters, programs
and proceedings;
·
Audiovisual materials
documenting the history and development of Villanova University such as
photographs, negatives, slides, motion pictures, oral history interviews, and
audio and video tapes, discs, digital and other electronic records or lists
where such items are maintained, and other types of recordings; photo albums,
scrapbooks;
·
Maps, prints, and drawings
documenting the physical growth and development of the University;
·
Artifacts and memorabilia
related to the history of Villanova University;
·
Policy Statements: Policies
governing the University and inter-departmental relations, recruiting policies,
and other policies which deal with the administration of the University,
department, school, committees, council, University Senate or office; Policy
manuals;
·
Faculty publications: two
copies of monographic publications, whether published by Villanova University or
some other agency, should be sent to the University Archives as soon as
possible. One will be retained in the "Villanova University Publications"
section of special collections in Falvey Memorial Library. The other will be
for the general collection in Falvey Memorial Library.
WHEN IN DOUBT, DO NOT THROW IT OUT!
Transfer appropriate
materials to Villanova University Archives (located in Falvey Memorial Library,
4th floor)
Voice: (610)
519-4133
e-mail:
Dennis.Gallagher@villanova.edu
Records Which Generally Should Not Be Transferred To The University Archives
The following materials should not be
transferred to the University Archives and may be discarded directly from the
office when no longer needed for administrative purpose. Exceptions will be
considered on an individual basis. These items will be normally retained
elsewhere.
·
Records of financial
transactions, including but not limited to: cancelled checks, invoices, ledger
reports, account books, petty cash vouchers and/or receipts, any non-final
budget report;
·
General administrative and
management office files;
·
Student academic and employment
records;
·
University personnel records;
·
Evaluations (of people);
·
Personal correspondence not
related to University business nor of significance to the University's
historical record;
·
General operational office
correspondence, especially non-personally addressed mail and routine letters of
transmittal and acknowledgement;
·
All blank forms and unused
printed or duplicated materials;
·
All duplicate materials (note:
archives only needs one copy);
·
Grant records (not funded);
·
Greeting cards;
·
Papers, reports, work papers
and drafts, which have been published elsewhere;
·
Miscellaneous candid visual and
audio materials;
·
Requests for publications or
information after requests have been filled;
·
Personnel files on faculty,
staff, or students;
·
Resumes received in application
for positions;
·
Any document containing salary
information attached to individual names;
·
Reservations, confirmations,
itineraries (travel), thank you notes, etc.
In summary, the official
administrative records of Villanova University (correspondence and subject
files; minutes and reports; films and videotapes; accreditation reports; annual,
biennial and financial reports; board committees, faculty council, faculty
congress, and University Senate minutes and reports;
newsletters;
self-studies; Villanova University publications; celebration and special events
records, etc.) should be inactive and be no longer in use in the activities of
the originating office. They should be transferred to the University Archives
according to a schedule agreed upon by the University Archives staff and the
office of origin. When material is transferred it should be accompanied by an
inventory identifying and describing
the records being transferred. The
originating office may indicate restrictions on access to such records where
appropriate.
2.
Personal and Professional Papers of Villanova University Faculty
As an important part of its mission of
documenting the internal
life of the Villanova
University community and placing it in a broader societal context, the
University Archives seeks to acquire, organize, and make available the personal
and professional papers of the Villanova University faculty.
Faculty
papers offer insight into the history and operation of the University, that
otherwise may be lost by relying only on official administrative records. They
reveal professional interests and opinions that frequently clarify matters
mentioned in the official records of the administration. Faculty papers
document the academic life of the University and relate one's academic career to
his or her total interests, thereby constituting an important historical
record. Personal viewpoints expressed in private correspondence and
documentation resulting from service on academic committees may provide a better
basis for understanding the University than official records from the
administrative offices alone. Without a broad range of faculty papers available
for consultation, the University Archives cannot provide a full compliment of
perspectives regarding the history and development of the institution.
The size of
the Villanova University faculty, and the available storage space and staff of
the University Archives place limitations on the extent of collecting faculty
papers. While attempting to acquire a broad range of personal papers, the
University Archives must be selective.
The
following criteria are applied when appraising and soliciting the personal and
professional papers from faculty:
Criteria of Faculty Members
Contribution
·
National or international
reputation in one's respective academic field;
·
Records of one's service with
Villanova University and contribution to its growth and development;
·
Service on the faculty or a
recognized area of excellence within Villanova University;
·
Service and contribution in
community, state, and national affairs.
Types and formats
The
following types and formats of documentation reflect and illuminate the careers
of the Villanova University faculty and are sought by the University Archives.
·
Biographic material: resumes,
vitae, biographical and autobiographical sketches, chronologies, genealogies,
newspaper clippings, memoirs;
·
Correspondence: Official (outgoing
and incoming letters and memoranda generated in the course of conducting
university business.) Professional (outgoing and incoming letters
relating to correspondence with colleagues, publishers, professional
organizations, and former students; includes related files and attachments.)
Personal (letters to and from friends, relatives, and business associates.);
·
Diaries, notebooks, appointment
calendars;
·
Teaching materials: lecture
notes, syllabi, course outlines, reading lists, examinations, student papers;
·
Research Files: outlines,
research designs, raw data, notes, analyses and reports of findings;
·
Departmental or Committee
Records: agenda, minutes, reports, correspondence, and related material;
·
Publications: articles, books,
reviews, works of art and music, speeches, professional papers, presentations;
·
Audiovisual Material: tapes of
lectures, speeches, discussions, interviews, video tapes and motion pictures;
·
Honors and awards;
·
Photographs: prints, slides,
and negatives;
·
Photo albums;
·
Scrapbooks;
·
Memorabilia.
Records Which Generally Should Not Be Transferred To
The University Archives
·
Detailed financial records,
canceled checks, and receipts;
·
Address books;
·
Calendars;
·
Routine correspondence;
·
Grade books and class rosters;
·
Greeting cards;
·
Invitations;
·
Duplicate and multiple copies
of publications, course materials; all other duplicate material;
·
Typescripts, drafts, and
galleys of publications and speeches unless the final publication or
presentation is unavailable;
·
Books, research papers, journal
articles, and reprints written by other persons;
·
Research notes and data if a
summary of the data is available and transferred; bibliographic notes and notes
on reading.
The Villanova University
Archives is committed to preserving selected faculty
papers, making them
available for research. At the same time, it has certain obligations to guard
against invasion of privacy and to protect confidentiality. Therefore every
private donor has the right to impose reasonable restrictions upon his or
her papers to protect confidentiality for a reasonable period of time.
Restrictions on access should be for a fixed period and should be determined at
the time of the donation. The University Archives does not accept agreements
that restrict access to materials for the lifetime of any person or persons, or
other agreements that are difficult or impossible to administer. It encourages
minimal access restrictions consistent with the legal rights of all concerned.
|